Pannukakku

by Patrick Ganey

Duck Fat and Politics

My friend and neighbor Doug shared this wonderful Pannukakku recipe because he, too, raises chickens and has an abundance of eggs; our family is quickly adopting his family’s tradition of eating it weekly! Pannukakku is, besides being a wonderful word, a Finnish pancake that is more popover than pancake. The simple batter rests for a half hour before being baked, and the pan is coated with ½ stick butter. What I like so much about it is that it tastes so buttery; I think it’s because no butter is added to the batter, and the butter in the pan eventually pools on the top of the pannukakku, bubbling right on the surface and making it taste more buttery than it actually is. We still have many pounds of blueberries in the freezer, so lightly whipped cream is a great accompaniment to blueberries heated in a pan for a few minutes – it takes the chill out of them. A few years ago we went through a “Waffle Friday” faze, eating a wide assortment of waffles and toppings for Friday night dinner, so it’s nice to circle back with a new variant. I’ve seen pictures where the edges of pannukakku rise dramatically, like the wings of a spotted eagle ray gliding through the Caribbean.

Ingredients:

1-1/2 C flour (I use 1/2 C whole wheat)

1-1/2 C milk

6 eggs

1 T sugar

1 t salt

1/4 C butter for the baking pan

heavy cream for whipping

Directions:

In a bowl, whisk together first 5 ingredients until no lumps remain. Let stand 30 minutes. Preheat over to 450. Melt butter in a 9×13 pan by placing it in the preheating oven. (Remove pan when butter is melted to avoid scorching.) Brush entire pan with melted butter before pouring in the pancake batter. Bake 15 to 20 minutes, until edges are puffed high and golden. Top with whipped cream and fresh fruit (or thawed frozen blueberries.) Can also be served with a squeeze of lemon and powdered sugar. Serves 4 – 6.

8 responses to “Pannukakku

  1. Cherry Danielson

    I, too love this recipe. We pour it into pie pans…so each person gets one. They do rise spectacularly and they do taste very buttery. I especially like to offer fruit and whipped cream, along with syrup (for those of us who never get enough syrup) and also a bowl of sunflower seeds. The salty sprinkle on top adds a lovely combination of flavors.

  2. Pingback: February 26 Recipe Roundup « The Heavy Table – Minneapolis-St. Paul and Upper Midwest Food Magazine and Blog

  3. This looks similar to a delicious German apple pancake we’ve made in the past — you cook it in a round pan in the oven and then fold it over the filling, omelet-style.

  4. Had finnish pancakes at a restaurant called Suomi in Houghton, Michigan. They were great! Very custard-like, almost. From memory, I don’t think theirs were browned much at all.

    -g

    • I lived in Houghton,I had the Pannukakku at Suomi’s Restraunt as well-I remember them being slightly browned-I’ve got 3 different recipes for these,just trying to find the original !.Thanks

  5. My aunt in Sweden made this weekly when I lived with her- she fried bacon or sliced ham and added it to the batter before baking. I’ve one-upped her and put bacon fat in the pan before adding the batter.

  6. A little bacon fat in the pan sounds great! I think I browned mine because I was waiting for those beautiful fins to rise up on the sides! But, I also like eggs, popovers and pancakes on the firm, rather than custardy side. Thanks.

  7. Thanks for posting this – I made it tonight and everyone loved it! Yum!

Leave a Reply

